news 1 week ago

NASCAR standings 2019: Updated points for Cup series playoffs after the Brickyard 400

Sporting News — (Ameer Tyree)

Kevin Harvick captured the pole for the Brickyard 400 at Indianapolis Motor Speedway and that helped him have a successful Sunday.

Harvick took home the checkered flag for the third time in 2019.

He finished fourth at the Bojangles' Southern 500 last week and is finishing the regular season on a high note, as he's won three of his last seven races.

“My team built a great race car. I can’t say enough about everyone on (this team)," Harvick said after the race. "They built a heck of a race car. It’s the same stuff that we took to Michigan and had a real good weekend there, obviously, and went to Victory Lane."

Joey Logano and Bubba Wallace finished in second and third place, respectively. But only Logano will make a playoff appearance. 

The playoffs are set to begin Sept. 15 at the South Point 400 at Las Vegas Motor Speedway.

Here are your updated point standings.

NASCAR points standings 2019

Below are the updated standings following the Brickyard 400. Drivers in bold qualified for the playoffs.

Rank Driver Wins Points
No. 1 Kyle Busch 2,045
Denny Hamlin42,030
Martin Truex Jr.42,029
No. 4Kevin Harvick32,028
 Joey Logano22,028
No. 6Brad Keselowski 32,024
No. 7Chase Elliott22,018
No. 8Kurt Busch12,011
No. 9Alex Bowman12,005
 Erik Jones12,005
 Kyle Larson02,005
No. 12Ryan Blaney02,004
No. 13William Byron 02,001
 Aric Almirola02,001
No. 15Clint Bowyer 02,000
 Ryan Newman02,000
No. 17Daniel Suarez0648
No. 18Jimmie Johnson0609
No. 19Paul Menard0575
No. 20Chris Buescher0554
No. 21Ricky Stenhouse Jr.0489
No. 22Matt DiBenedetto0486
No. 23Austin Dillon0479
No. 24Ty Dillon0441
No. 25Daniel Hemric0373
No. 26Ryan Preece0354
No. 27Bubba Wallace0351
No. 28Michael McDowell0324
No. 29Corey LaJoie0298
No. 30David Ragan0285
No. 31Matt Tifft0268
No. 32Reed Sorenson089
No. 33Quin Houff071
No. 34Jamie McMurray019
No. 35Austin Theriault010
No. 36Andy Seuss09
No. 37Stanton Barrett02
No. 38Casey Mears01

Who missed the playoffs? 

Daniel Suarez finished in 17th with 648 points while Paul Menard finished in 19th with 575 points.

Jimmie Johnson, a seven-time champion, will miss the playoffs for the first time in his career.

How are NASCAR driver points awarded per race?

Each finishing spot in the field earns driver points with the maximum being 40 for a win. These points accrue over the season as do owner points.

Drivers can also earn points based off of their finishes in the first two stages of the race. The driver who finishes first earns 10 points, the man who finishes in second earns nine and so on and so forth, points earned in those stages are then added to the points earned at the finish of a race.

The points are added up over all of the races and there is a reset after the regular-season finale in the 26th race. Drivers who have earned wins or finish in the top 16 of the Cup Series standings then move on to the playoffs.

Drivers accumulate playoff points earning five bonus points for a win and one for a stage win. Those points are added to a driver's total at the start of the playoffs.

For a more in-depth look at how scoring works, click here.