Golfer Who Didn't Know New Rule Pays Big PriceNewser — Jenn Gidman
A new rule threw a veteran golfer off her game this week, and it cost her big. The Golf Channel reports that Lee Ann Walker competed in the Senior LPGA Championship in French Lick, Ind., and in both the first round on Tuesday and the second round on Wednesday, she made a critical error: She putted with her caddie lined up right behind her, a practice banned earlier this year that Walker says she didn't know about.
She tells the AP she shot through the entire first round without other players noticing, but during the second round, fellow competitors alerted her to the rule, and Walker self-reported to officials.
Walker was able to recall how many times she'd violated the rule over the two days, and that's when she heard her penalty: 42 strokes piled onto her opening round, bringing her score to 127, and 16 added onto the second round, for a score of 90.
"I may have made the Guinness ... World Records," Walker told the AP Wednesday after the unfortunate blunder. "It was my fault for not knowing the rules. I don't have anyone to blame but myself. Big lesson learned."
- Report: At Least 10 Teams Will Attend Kaepernick Workout
- Kaepernick Gets an NFL Invite, but Some Are Skeptical
- College Gymnast Slips From Bars, Dies Days Later
This article originally appeared on Newser: Golfer Who Didn't Know New Rule Pays Big Price